Showtime by Chloe Kayne

A copy of Showtime was kindly sent to me by Chloe Kayne in exchange for an honest review. 

Showtime is a fabulous book, there are no two ways about it. From the moment I started reading it I was hooked; Laila ran away with the circus and took me with her. Chloe Kayne immerses you in Laila’s story and doesn’t stop delivering action and excitement throughout the entire novel. The writing is sumptuous and enticing, I could practically taste the sweet lemonade and smell the sawdust in the menagerie, see the glittering sequins on the aerialists costumes and feel the aching muscles of the performers; my inner sixteen year old wants to run away with the circus.

I’ve always had a soft spot for the circus so after reading Water for Elephants and The Night Circus I was hungry for more of this unique world. At first I couldn’t help but compare Showtime with these two books, but once I accepted this book for what it is – a young adult novel written by a young woman (and self published too!) – I became completely absorbed. The entire book had me fascinated; there is always some kind of conflict or mystery within Marvelle that has you wondering who is good, who is bad and who just doesn’t care what happens; there was never a point where I didn’t care what happened to Laila and her friends.

There are some minor errors throughout that I couldn’t help picking up on, but I found, to my surprise, that they didn’t bother me too much. The story is so strong and exciting that the errors are surprisingly easy to overlook. The strength of the plot and the characters were such that the errors faded into the background (although I do think Showtime would benefit from another round of editing just to clean it up); an interesting story has always been more important to me than perfect grammar. I will definitely be reading the next Marvelle book when it’s released!

Read: December 16th-22nd 2012

4/5 stars

Leave a Reply

