Fire Country by David Estes

A copy of Fire Country was kindly sent to me by David Estes in exchange for an honest review. 

(This review’s going to be pretty vague as I don’t want to spoil anything).

David Estes has done it again. Fire Country is, quite simply, brilliant. Once again I was reduced to sending fangirling messages over Goodreads telling him how brilliant he is and how much I love his characters. I really enjoyed reading his take on a dystopian world and seeing how the vastly different communities of Heaters, Glassies, Killers etc. co-existed; for me it was a completely new take on dystopia and one that I thoroughly enjoyed. Although the storyline was a little predictable at times (I was fairly certain how everything would unfold) it is written in such a way that it doesn’t really matter, and there are couple of twists that will shock you to the core. Unpredictable plot be damned, give me a well written predictable one any day, and Fire Country is certainly that – I could practically feel the heat searing through the desert as I read Fire Country, the atmosphere and descriptions used were fantastic, but it was definitely the characters that made this such a good book, in my opinion, and some seriously badass women.

A few pages in and I was already entirely invested in Siena and her story (and Circ and his muscles, swoon), and completely gripped by everything that was happening to and around her. Her development throughout the novel is brilliant to read as well, she goes from being quite meek and obedient to strong and sure of herself in a way that is not only believable but very gratifying. There was not a single moment when I didn’t care what happened to her. The characters really get under your skin and into your soul in the most wonderful way; they are exceptionally crafted and so believable that I really felt like I was going through everything with Siena. Siena is honestly one of the best female protagonists I have ever come across. Some of the language used is quite bizarre to read at first as there is a lot of slang, slang related to fire, but after a while I got used to it and found that it really added to the story, especially as it was consistently used.

I think this is a story that most anyone could like as the characters and their stories are so well crafted and vividly portrayed. Some books are carried more by their plots, some by their characters; this one has both in equal measure. Fire Country is an all-round excellent novel, and I am very much looking forward to reading the rest of the series (and everything else David ever writes. Ever.).

Read: August 10th-16th 2013

4/5 stars

Leave a Reply

