Bristles by Donna Callea

A copy of Bristles was kindly sent to me by Donna Callea in exchange for an honest review. 

Cinderella meets steampunk meets dystopian. Cool, right? While it’s a very interesting concept and idea Bristles just didn’t do it for me. The book moved far too slowly for my liking and Bryssa seemed to spend a lot of time thinking about doing stuff without actually bothering to do any of it.

I found the characters quite bland and frankly ridiculous at times; I actually liked Bryssa to begin with but before long Aydan came along and then she became way too Bella Swan ‘oh my god how will I ever live without him I love him so much’ for my liking; girls, the world does not revolve around a guy. Ever. I didn’t really connect with any of the other characters on an emotional level either.

I don’t doubt many people will love this book, as it is a simple and entertaining little read; I’m pretty sure I would have loved it when I was sixteen. I think I just wanted it to be so much more than it was, as there is so much potential within it. I was so intrigued by the idea but it sadly fell short of my expectations. It’s written well enough; it’s just lacking something that I can’t quite pinpoint. Although I did find myself filled with righteous anger at the way Bryssa was treated and the ridiculous haircuts that Ma’am bestowed upon her, but even that feeling fizzled away after a while and I couldn’t quite believe that someone in that high (and public) a position could have gotten away with treating their stepchild like that for so long.

Read: April 28th-May 1st 2013

2/5 stars

Leave a Reply

