The Pulse by A. E. Shaw

A copy of The Pulse was kindly sent to me by A. E. Shaw in exchange for an honest review. 

This is probably going to be one of the worst reviews I have ever written but I was honestly mostly confused by The Pulse and found it a very slow read (I think I’ve completely missed the point of it looking at other reviews). It is undoubtedly well written and cleverly crafted but it was one of those novels that just didn’t do it for me, a terrible explanation of why I wasn’t particularly enamoured by it but the only way I can think to express it.

I found the lack of dialogue quite strange and the intrusive narrator annoying in this particular setting; I find that narrators adding in little comments doesn’t work unless in children’s literature, such as The Chronicles of Narnia or The Tale of Despereaux where it works brilliantly, but this is just personal preference.

Aiden is one of the most annoying characters I have ever encountered and I found myself not caring for him at all, and actually thinking that The Pulse would probably be a better book without him. I had similar feelings of apathy towards Alej and Selina, although I was much more interested in what was going to happen to them.

I don’t doubt that many people will love this book, and I am very grateful to have had the opportunity to read and review it, but it just wasn’t for me.

Read: June 20th-25th 2013

2/5 stars

Leave a Reply

