Wendigo Fever (Warden, #1) by Kevin Hardman

A copy of Warden was kindly sent to me by Kevin Hardman in exchange for an honest review. 

It always pleases me beyond belief when a book I receive for review turns out to be brilliantWarden is a fast paced, well written and thrilling novella, and I found myself unable to put it down. The action really picked up a few chapters in and from that point on it was unrelenting action and tension.

The characters are fantastic (I think Dorsey is my favourite). Errol is a reluctant hero who, naturally, has to fill his older brother’s shoes when he goes missing and I have to admit, I adored him. I would have liked some of the characters to have been explored a bit more deeply, though I suppose this could easily happen in sequels (which I’m pretty sure I’ll be reading). From start to finish I can find no faults with it, except that it wasn’t long enough, hence the short review; I really want to know what happens with Tom and Errol!

My only qualm with Warden is the cover, which is obviously vastly unimportant, as it does not do the story justice or convey the terrifying Wendigo in all its horrendous glory (I’m going to be having nightmares for weeks I just know it). I thoroughly enjoyed reading Warden and am looking forward to see where Hardman goes from here.

Read: July 6th-7th 2013

3/5 stars

Leave a Reply

