Shooting Stars (A Surah Stormsong Novel #1) by H.D. Gordon

A copy of Shooting Stars was kindly sent to me by H.D. Gordon in exchange for an honest review. 

‘If you want to be free of this heavy darkness you feel, focus on your love. Love is a chariot with a skeleton key to the chains which hate can wrap around you. To love is to be free.’

This is the first novel by H.D. Gordon that I’ve read, and judging by its quality, and the rave reviews of her other novels, I don’t think it will be the last. Shooting Stars is an action packed tale involving a sorceress, a giant tiger and a gorgeous country boy (I just knew I’d love Charlie the first time he appeared), doing some pretty badass magic and fighting. It didn’t hold my attention as much as others in the genre have done but it’s definitely a strong, well-written novel. It starts very strongly and the descriptions are practically poetry; I really like the way Gordon writes. The action definitely picks up in the second half and I was a lot more gripped by it, up until that point there was a lot of talking about doing things rather than actually doing them.

The characters were definitely the highlight of this novel for me. Surah, a sorceress princess, is strong, smart and, aside from a few ‘do I like Charlie? Why can’t I stop looking at him? No I refuse to like Charlie’ moments, is one of the best female protagonists I have ever read, she had just the right balance of roughness and femininity, and her relationship with Samson is lovely; put in a giant tiger and you’ve got my vote (although comparing his voice to James Earl Jones in a fantasy setting is just plain weird). Charlie (hot country boy, YES!) is quite simply brilliant, and there is much more to him than my review seems to show – more than a pretty face people, he was hands down my favourite character and contrasted really well with Black Heart. The only problem I had with any of the characters was the way a lot of the time women (except Surah) were so easily disregarded as emotional, incapable and easily swayed by a pretty smile, although it seemed to be the mindset of the men in the book, even Samson, I didn’t like it.

My only issue with Shooting Stars is that it seems to have been rushed to publication, as I noticed quite a few errors throughout, typos rather than grammatical errors, so I definitely think it would benefit from another edit. Apart from that it’s a solid, interesting read and has left me intrigued to read more of H.D. Gordon’s work.

Read: August 3rd-9th 2013

3/5 stars

Leave a Reply

