The Forgotten Ones (The Danaan Trilogy #1) by Laura Howard

Received from NetGalley for review. 

Allison has one goal in life: to go to grad school and get a good job so that she can care for her schizophrenic mother. This is more complicated than first anticipated though, with the presence of Ethan (who she’s liked forever) and the appearance of her long lost father Liam and his unbelievable tales of the Danaan. Stranger than even that though is his claim that he may be able to help Allison’s mother, Beth, a possibility that she had never even allowed herself to believe.

I’ve always loved books about the Fae, fairies, pixies…whatever you want to call them. I love them all, in all their variations and diversities, so when I saw The Forgotten Ones, based on the Tuatha de Danaan of Ireland, on NetGalley I was immediately drawn to it. The cover is absolutely beautiful and who doesn’t like an Irish fairy story? I can also happily say that The Forgotten Ones doesn’t disappoint. I was immediately interested in the story and wanted to know what was going to happen next and how events would unfold, the plot kept me hooked until the very end.

This book was, for the most part, refreshingly unpredictable, and I was constantly surprised by the events that unfolded. Allison is a mostly likable protagonist and I liked the way the narrative switched between her reality and what she was seeing in her dreams. The romance between her and Ethan was really well written, as it doesn’t overtake the story or become Allison’s entire world, as can happen in a lot of YA fiction, and I really love the other characters as well, especially Aodhan. The plot maintained my interest throughout but the action definitely picked up in the second half of the novel. As it is part of a series it has left me intrigued to read what happens next, I’ll definitely be reading the second book in the series when it’s released.

My only real criticisms are Allison’s internal monologues about Ethan – it got a bit wearing after a while reading how gorgeous he was and how he made her tremble and go to pieces internally, I get it he’s hot, you like him, move on – and the pronunciation guide for the names being right at the end; this has no bearing at all on the story but it would’ve been nice to know how to say the names before I started reading as Laura Howard has used a lot of Celtic names. Overall, though, a fantastic and engaging read.

Read: September 15th-18th 2013

4/5 stars

Leave a Reply

