The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

‘My thoughts are stars I can’t fathom into constellations.’

Augustus, you said it all. This book is amazing, for lack of a better word, and I don’t know if I can fathom all my thoughts and feelings into one coherent response and express just how amazing this book is. I am left raw and emotional and crazed with affection, in the best possible way, by it. John Green is simply a class apart and his writing is simultaneously heartbreaking, joyous, painful and insightful. How he has managed to write a book about a terminal cancer patient and left me feeling a little bit brighter and left the world looking a little bit more beautiful is beyond me. Some books are genuine magic, disguised as ink and paper, and this is one of them; a true literary gift to the world.

The best thing about this book is Hazel and her relationship with the incomparable Augustus Waters. The way Green wrote Hazel and Gus had me head over heels for these wonderful characters and their tragic, yet somehow beautiful, story. They were both convincingly unsure, unwell and in love sixteen and seventeen year old’s and at the same time so much more; intelligent, well-spoken and wonderfully smart assed and positive about their lives. I can’t recall reading a book that has so magnificently endeared me to its characters in such a short amount of time before.

I know this book will stay with me for a very long time, and I think it will similarly touch the lives of many who read it. I know I will read it again and again, and fall in love with Hazel, Gus and Isaac again and again (I know I’ll cry again and again too). All I can really say now is: to you, whoever you are, life and love are good and precious, so don’t you dare go wasting them, and, to John Green, thank you so much for enriching my life a little bit more with this book.

Read: March 21st-22nd 2013

5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

