The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

‘I will never leave him. It will be this, always, for as long as he will let me.’

Oh, wow. I may be exaggerating, I may be biased as it’s a love story between two men and that is something I just can’t resist, but this is hands down one of the best books I have ever read. I can do nothing but praise it and I’m not sure I can find the words to praise it as much as it deserves; it is exceptionally well written, lyrical and beautiful to read, the descriptions are sumptuous and my heart is aching. Achilles and Patroclus are so wonderfully written I can hardly stand it; their interactions and relationship left me breathless and I can’t even begin to convey my thoughts about the ending.

This was one of those books that everything went on hold for, I’m pretty sure it would’ve taken the house burning down to tear me away from it. I am awed and I am enamoured. I feel as if I have been stripped down to the bone, taken apart piece by piece and put back together again. I can find no faults with it, start to finish I think it is one of the most perfect books I have read; it is everything I wanted it to be and more.

Read: July 9th-10th 2013

5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

