The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling

It was always going to be completely different book from Harry Potter, but I quite liked that about it. It’s a very gritty, dark and real book and one that I think will stay with me for a long time. Even though I wasn’t sure I was going to be interested in the plot and the characters (it was only the author who appealed to me) I found myself sucked right in, wondering, when I wasn’t reading it, what was going to happen and how everything would play out.

J.K. Rowling has already proven that she is an amazing storyteller, and I think The Casual Vacancy confirms that for people who didn’t think she would have a career beyond Harry Potter. She has a way of writing, of creating characters, that makes you care what happens to them, even if you didn’t expect to. To me, this book screams this is real life, this really happens, and I think it should be one of those books that people say, ‘everyone should read this book,’ because I honestly believe that everyone should.

Read: September 30th-October 4th 2012

5/5 stars

2 thoughts on “The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling

Leave a Reply

