Wide Awake by Kade Boehme

Warning: review contains spoilers

‘You took my life and shined this huge light through the fog. I felt like I was asleep, floating, with no clue what was going on. Then there you were. You came out of fucking nowhere. It’s like, thanks to you I’m wide awake and I’m finally ready for life. I’m definitely ready for life with you.’ 

Congratulations Kade Boehme, I am now a sobbing wreck. Mark and Tyler, I swoon over your adorableness, I wanna be your hag.

This novella is absolutely beautiful, breath taking even. The relationship between Mark and Tyler, and all the chaos and drama that it causes, is amazing. Nothing quite like banging your son’s best friend for a little family rift, eh Mark? I’m amazed how emotionally invested I became in the characters, it’s no mean feat endearing a reader to your characters in about four pages. Yes there are errors, but more often than not I’m finding myself saying ‘so what?!’ – powerful, emotive story lines and wonderful characters will always matter more to me than correct grammar, and Boehme totally slayed me with these guys.

I’m a reluctant hopeless romantic and this story had my heart and head going back, forth, up, down and around in circles, everything about it felt so very real, so in the moment that I felt like I experienced everything alongside Mark and Tyler, and let me tell you, it was one hell of a ride; my blood ran cold when Tyler was shot and I couldn’t read fast enough to find out if he was going to be okay. I championed their relationship from the beginning and I don’t even know what kind of shit storm my mind would have descended into if they hadn’t gotten back on track in the end. Love is love, people are people, and if you do so happen to fall in love with your son’s best friend, well, that’s just the way life goes sometimes.

Even with some shudder inducing cliches and errors this is hands down one of the best M/M romance’s I’ve read (and I read fanfiction, so you know, high standards) and that’s what I love about the internet, inexpensive ebooks and, sometimes, self publishing – occasionally you will find something that really speaks to you and makes you feel a little bit better about the often crappy world we live in.

Read: March 15th 2013

4/5 stars

Leave a Reply

