Little Bits

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

Dark, disturbing and completely absorbing. WWII novels like this always pique my interest and I found this book did even more so because it was about Lithuanian deportation into Serbia, which I didn’t know anything about (all the stuff about Nazi’s and WWII at school and they couldn’t have mentioned this?!). It’s not a light read, it’s a brutal account based on survivor accounts and very harrowing, but I thoroughly recommend it. Books like these need to be read.

Read: August 31st-September 1st 2012

5/5 stars

Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

Utterly heartbreaking. I can’t even write down everything I’m thinking and feeling after reading this, not in any kind of eloquent way. What an amazing novella. Wow.

Read: January 22nd 2013

5/5 stars

Ballet Shoes by Noel Streatfeild

What a lovely little book! I can see why it has such high praise from so many people. It’s a fantastic little story, so innocent and charming. Pauline, Petrova and Posy are brilliant characters to read about, and I love the fact that everything turns out alright in the end. Stories like this just don’t seem to be written anymore, it makes me nostalgic for a time I’ve never even known. My favourite thing about this book is that the three Fossil’s, Nana and Garnie manage to overcome all the obstacles they face, and I adore the idea of living in a big house with such an eclectic collection of people, all working together to help with the girls schooling. It’s a truly heartwarming read.

Read: February 11th 2013

4/5 stars

Leave a Reply

