Suitcase of Stars by Pierdomenico Baccalario

Received from NetGalley for review. 

Something strange is afoot in Applecross, and Finley McPhee intends to find out what…

It’s taken me longer than usual to read this book, not because it wasn’t interesting or engaging, but because I’ve been so busy with my teacher training, the moments that I did have to myself to read, however, were absolutely fantastic because of this book. Suitcase of Stars is a piece of childhood magic gold, and I really wish it had been around when I was ten because I would have absolutely loved it.

Suitcase of Stars tells the story of Finley and his dog Patches, and how everything changes for them when the Lily family come back to Applecross. Finley soon becomes friends with Aiby Lily and the adventure begins. This is such a magical, whimsical and mysterious tale, children (and adults!) of all ages will love it. The characters are brilliant; from Finley’s adorable furry sidekick Patches to the incredibly eccentric Mr. Lily, I loved them all. Baccalario seamlessly blends fantasy, history and mystery to create a story full of unexpected adventures and magic that had me excited and fearful for the characters in equal measure – the story keeps you wondering and guessing what might happen right to the end.

This is a truly delightful read; the author has taken all the elements of a successful piece of children’s literature and made something new and exciting with them. I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys a journey into the, sometimes terrifying, sometimes awe inspiring, unknown.

Read: November 24th-December 1st 2013

4/5 stars

Leave a Reply

