Little Bits

Hitler’s Angel by William Osbourne

The problem with this book, I think, is that it’s aimed at a younger audience (and an audience without an English degree – the writing made me cringe) and that’s fine, but for me it was very clunky and clichéd to read and just didn’t flow. I hate that word but it really didn’t. I’m pretty sure I would’ve disliked it when I was ten as well. The entire plot was unrealistic and rushed and large parts of it felt like a list of names and places, as if Osborne was focusing more on the facts of WWII than making an intriguing plot, because a story about two teenage agents kidnapping a child from Nazi Germany should be interesting. Sigh. What a disappointment.

Read: November 13th-20th 2012

2/5 stars

The Girl in the Mask by Marie-Louise Jensen

It was okay for what it was but I can’t help feeling disappointed by it, it just felt flat. So much more could have been done with the subject matter and plot; there was a lot of potential that just didn’t materialise and the ending just didn’t seem to fit with the rest of the novel. It’s a shame really as there were some interesting aspects of The Girl in the Mask that just weren’t developed enough, like the Jacobite rebellion and the character of Charleton. I think I would have enjoyed it more if I had been reading it for pleasure rather than for the Carnegie.

Read: November 23rd-26th 2012

3/5 stars

2 thoughts on “Little Bits

Leave a Reply

