Last of Carnegie 2013

This Dark Endeavour by Kenneth Oppel

Dark and delicious. This is one of the best books I have read so far in the Carnegie long list, it truly has everything you could want in a young adult book – danger, intrigue, adventure, romance…simply brilliant! It was wonderfully Gothic and dark; Frankenstein had never really gripped me, as interesting as the plot sounds, but this imagining of the events before Frankenstein is riveting. I loved reading this book, very excited for a sequel!

Read: December 7th-10th 2012

4/5 stars

 

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater (or, a rubbish review added because I enjoyed reading it so much)

Oh my god this book is amazing. I love Puck, I love Sean, I love Dove, I love Corr, I love Finn. I love it! I love it! I love it! It’s so beautiful and breathtaking and heart wrenching, quite simply one of the best books I’ve read. The prose is wonderful and I’ve fallen head over heels for the characters and Thisby; I never wanted this story to end. I’ve laughed, bristled with anger and cried over this book and I’m actually quite sad I’ve finished reading it – this will definitely be re-read!

Read: January 2nd-7th 2013

5/5 stars

 

The Flask by Nicky Singer

The Flask is really quite strange to read, but also rather wonderful. The language and descriptions of the flask are beautiful and I absolutely adored the character of Aunt Edie, but it was a very odd story with an odd plot. Something about it feels quite profound but I’m not sure what, I almost wanted it to be more magical than it actually was; it seemed to be mostly full of coincidences, good medical care and a very eccentric girl trying to deal with a difficult situation.

Read: February 13th-14th 2013

3/5 stars

Leave a Reply

