Wings by Aprilynne Pike (series review)

Warning: review contains spoilers

I’m not sure where to begin with this. I’ve read hundreds of books in my life and been engrossed in so many tales but something about this series really had me gripped, even when I thought I might be a bit disinterested. It’s not the best written series I’ve ever read, nor is it is any way perfect, but I haven’t felt that connected to characters for quite some time. I read Wings originally about four years ago and thought it was fantastic. This year I finished gathering the other three books and decided to give it a try again. I have to admit I wasn’t sure if I wanted to carry on reading when I started Spells and then Wild, but something always happened to draw me back in and I’d find myself racing through the books, to find out what was going to happen and if Laurel would finally realise she was crazy for Tamani. Thank the Goddess she did because I don’t think I would have even forgiven her if she hadn’t. Don’t get me wrong, David is awesome (and WOW with Excalibur, boy is a badass) but Tamani had my heart from the first time he appeared. Long dark hair and deep green eyes? I was sold.

I couldn’t help but compare it to Melissa Marr’s Wicked Lovely series when I started reading it, as they both had the whole faerie/human love triangle thing and a strong link to the human world, but something about Wings has really etched itself into my mind. Don’t get me wrong, both series are completely different and amazing in their own way, but I felt much more attached to the characters in Wings (there just wasn’t enough of Niall throughout Wicked Lovely for my liking).

The characters are simply superb and somehow Aprilynne Pike managed, with her writing, to get under my skin and make me care so much about these characters that I cried. Twice. And that has not happened since I read Deathly Hallows. Tamani and Shar (I’m still in shock) truly have my heart. What can I say? I’m a sucker for a faerie man with long hair, and when Shar was killed my heart broke; broke for his family, broke for Tamani and broke my myself, I hadn’t even realised how much I’d grown to love that sarcastic hardass sentry. I even found Laurel and Chelsea less annoying that I expected (me and female protagonists are not friends.) I also found that Destined answered all the questions I had about the series. The mystery of Klea, Yuki, the trolls, everything that had happened, was brought together nicely and it did have a happily ever after vibe, which the hopeless and mostly well suppressed romantic in me loves.

I’m surprised by how much I have genuinely enjoyed this series and I really hope that Aprilynne Pike will write another series in the future. 4.5 stars for the entire series, Wings and Destined were the stand out books for me, beginning and ending the series remarkably.

Wings: 4/5 stars, Spells: 4/5 stars, Wild: 4/5 stars, Destined: 5/5 stars

Overall: 4.5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

