Phantom’s Dance by Lesa Howard

Received from NetGalley for review.

3.5 stars

I find that I gravitate towards stories with ballet, theatre or the circus; I love all three but have only ever been a part of its audience. In novels, however, I can be a ballerina, a West End star or trapeze artist. In these books I can live out my wildest fantasies, doing the things I can only dream of due to coordination and confidence issues. Phantom’s Dance is no exception to this, and I danced and lived and loved as Christine did, in the ruthless world of ballet.

We know from the novel description that it is a re-imagining ofThe Phantom of the Opera, set in the world of ballet in modern day Houston. I’ve never read The Phantom of the Opera but I’ve seen the musical and know the story, I think it’s one of those stories that is known and instantly recognisable to most people. It is quite an easy and light-hearted read, with just the right amount of tension and intrigue for someone who doesn’t want to read anything too heavy. There are a couple of stomach churning twists, and I’m not sure how I feel about how one of them was handled, but overall it was a good read.

It is not the most well-written of books, I doubt it will win any prizes, and it could do with another round of editing, but it is utterly readable and enjoyable; I devoured it in two sittings as I just had to know what would happen to Christine and what choices she would make. I enjoyed the characters for the most part, Christine and Raoul were a little bland but not offensively so and their romance was sweet. I would have liked it to have focused more on ballet than relationships but the romance aspect never felt overwhelming. A solid read about ballet, love and obsession.

Read: December 24th-26th 2014

3.5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

