Little Bits

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton

This is a truly incredible book; it is exceptionally well written and has a sense of mystery and magic throughout whilst being fully immersed in the real world. I can’t bring myself to give this book five stars, however, as there was a part of it I really hated and found completely unnecessary to the story, but for the other 300 pages this book was utterly beautiful. The writing is lyrical and magical, and reading this was a wonderfully strange experience to be part of.

Read: February 12th-13th 2015

4/5 stars

Chantress (Chantress, #1) by Amy Butler Greenfield

I got to page 223, and then I skimmed. This book is a massive info dump and when you’re over 200 pages in and nothing has happened, well, I think it’s time to just give up. The characters are bland and bordering on the ridiculous, total caricatures. It’s a shame because the first few pages were genuinely intriguing, but then Lucy had to be an idiot (of course) and ignore everything she had ever been told about singing, ignore all the precautions she had always followed, and promptly fuck everything up. From my quick skim the plot was extremely predictable, although it does seem there was finally some action towards the end. Disappointed does’t even begin to cover it.

Read: May 9th-10th 2015

2/5 stars

*spoilers for Divergent series below

Allegiant (Divergent, #3) by Veronica Roth

Veronica Roth, you clever little fucker.

Extract of conversation with my long suffering best friend, who I made read The Fault in Our Stars and I’m pretty sure this was her revenge, as I got towards the end:

TRIS DIES?!
I want to put the book in the feezer.
Nooooooo.
I AM NOT OKAY.
NOT OKAY WITH THIS SITUATION.
I feel betrayed by Veronica Roth. Betrayed.

And then Ali, sweetheart that she is, is laughing so hard at me her husband has to ask what’s so funny.

I love her. And I love Veronica Roth, and hate her a little bit too in my emotionally fragile state.

And then the ending. GAWD. It’s so sad, and so sweet. Damn.

Read: March 9th-12th 2015

5/5 stars

3 thoughts on “Little Bits

  1. Kirsty says:

    I definitely need to get my hands on ‘Ava Lavender’ – more so now because I’m so intrigued to see which bit you hated! Great reviews.

Leave a Reply

