A Curse of Ash and Iron by Christine Norris

Received from NetGalley for review.

It always makes me a little bit sad when I have to say this, but here goes: I got about 60 pages in and then the skimming happened. The funny thing is, this book isn’t even bad – the writing, the plot, the characters, they are all okay – they’re well thought out and crafted. But I got bored. So bored. Maybe it’s me, maybe it’s the story, but it didn’t hold my attention at all. I found it predictable and so slow paced that I was easily distracted by other things. Maybe steampunk Cinderella retellings just aren’t for me, after all they’ve failed me before.

I’m not going to write much more of a review because I don’t feel I’ve read enough of this story to do so, but here are my thoughts on what I did read:
– Set in 1800’s Philadelphia, the setting and narrative voice seem authentic.
– Story echoes Cinderella, with a steampunk twist.
– Ben and Ellie were childhood friends who meet again. Ellie has been placed under a spell by her stepmother that only Ben can see through and wants him to help her.
– Characters are fairly well developed, although none of them are particularly original.
– The writing is decent, albeit very slow paced, and I felt immersed within the setting.

As I’ve said, I didn’t particularly enjoy this, but I know that there are many people who will, something about it just didn’t work for me.

Read: July 11th-18th 2015

2/5 stars

Leave a Reply

