Demon Road (Demon Road, #1) by Derek Landy

Received from NetGalley for review.

I got to 54%, and then I started skimming. Not because the book was bad, I know many people will love it, but because I just lost interest; something about Demon Road didn’t work for me in the end and I’m not one to try and battle through something I am not interested in.

The premise of the story is interesting enough – sixteen year old Amber finds herself in a world of demons, demons who want her dead, and ends up running from them with a mysterious man, his even more mysterious car and an annoying Irish teen. That is essentially the book – one big demonic road trip along the Demon Road. Sounds fun, right? Unfortunately, the best parts of this book were Milo (the mystery man) and his car, which seems to have something demonic about it. Everything else just bored me a little bit and I can’t quite figure out why. There is action – fighting, killing, deceit, all sorts of monsters – but it all felt a bit bland and rushed.

The characters were a bit disappointing, with the exception of Milo who was both hilarious and realistic. Amber was quite funny and gloriously sarcastic and I had a lot of sympathy for her to begin with, but soon becomes another dull and naïve protagonist, hell bent on not listening to the people who are trying to keep her alive. There’s also a lot of emphasis on her appearance at the beginning of the novel – she is described as being quite dumpy and plain – and everyone seems to mock her for this. That just makes me sad, and a bit mad. Can we put less emphasis on the looks of young/teenage girls, please? Beauty is found within and just because people don’t conform to a certain ideal does mean they are automatically unattractive and feel crap about themselves. The less said about Glen (annoying Irish teen), the better and if he happens to fall off a cliff at some point…well, no one’s going to be crying about it.

Demon Road reads quite young – it is fast and pacey with a light take on demons, and this makes me wonder whether I would have enjoyed it more when I was younger. I’ve read the first of Landy’s Skullduggery Pleasant books, which I enjoyed immensely, and have found Demon Road didn’t match up to what I was expecting from the author of something so entertaining. Although I doubt I’ll be looking for the next book in this series, I will always have Skullduggery and his adventures to fall back on for a hilarious demon filled world.

Read: August 10th-15th 2015

2/5 stars

Leave a Reply

