The Casquette Girls (The Casquette Girls, #1) by Alys Arden

Received from NetGalley for review.

I got to about 10% into this story this when I realised that me and the writing style just weren’t going to gel; it’s so average and cringe worthy. The writing is not bad, but it’s not great either, and it simply didn’t hold my interest. The actual premise for the story is so interesting: modern New Orleans has been devastated by the storm of the century and is practically destroyed, but Adele and her father go back and strange things start happening, all immersed in voodoo and magic. Right up my street, but the writing style was too much of a barrier.

I wanted to like it, I really did, but I couldn’t get past the writing; it made everything sound lacklustre and juvenile, especially the characters. Adele sounds like an overdramatic thirteen year old and I hated the way she always described herself as ‘so anxious’ or talked about her anxiety increasing – that’s not anxiety, love, that’s common sense. Adele and her father going back to New Orleans, despite warnings, despite destroyed homes, little electricity, and high crime, was fucking stupid as well. Sorry, but I wouldn’t be letting my teenage daughter dictate going home to a dangerous place, and I don’t think many parents would. The story might have improved further in, but right now I am not willing to find out.

There’s definite potential, and I do wish I could have stuck it out until the real strangeness started happening. I might revisit this in the future, but as I stopped reading when potential beautiful Italian vampires started appearing, I might not.

Read: November 19th-28th 2015

2/5 stars

Leave a Reply

