Tell the Wind and Fire by Sarah Rees Brennan

Received from NetGalley for review.

DNF @ 38%

You know what? I just don’t care. I don’t care about the characters, I don’t care about the plot, and I don’t care what happens to anyone. And that’s a problem. After thinking about it for a couple of days I decided that no, I was not going to attempt to read this book anymore. I skimmed ahead to the end and that did nothing to change my mind.

The plot is a hot mess – jumping around without any cohesion. This happened then this then this…and I should care, why? Nothing was developed enough for me to become invested in the story or the people in it. The main characters were so irritating; Lucie was so selfish it hurt, Ethan had the personality of a wet mop, and even doppelganger Carwyn (an exact copy of Ethan created out of darkness when his life was saved) only provided a little comic relief that I found was generally overshadowed by Lucie’s ridiculous trust in him. I mean, who trusts someone who is made out of darkness and is meant to have no soul and no regard for anyone else? You may not want to jump onto the bandwagon and believe that all doppelgangers are the devil incarnate, but Carwyn’s actions show he is not trustworthy; he did help Ethan but only to help himself.

I think Lucie was the death of this book for me – her character and her motivations made no sense to me at all. We learn that she has come to the Light city from the Dark, gained a rich boyfriend whom she loves, and an excellent reputation, yet her entire life seems to be built on lies and selfish acts. She could have been really interesting and likeable – everyone loves an anti-hero – but she was so painfully idiotic. The trust and need to help Carwyn because he helped Ethan (like I said above, this was a purely selfish act) is so stupid and makes no sense at all. Too stupid to live protagonists give me such a headache.

The ideas in the story were quite interesting, though – the Light and Dark cities and the hierarchy within them, the use of magic, the rebellions developing in the Dark city (because naturally they’re treated like shit), but I feel like I’ve read it all before only by better and more imaginative writers. There is definitely potential in Tell the Wind and Fire, but it sadly did not live up to my expectations.

Read: March 16th-20th 2016

1/5 stars

Leave a Reply

