A Thousand Salt Kisses by Josie Demuth

Received from NetGalley for review.

DNF @ 10%

10% is hardly enough for an informative review but I’m going to gauge my eyes out if I read any more. Now let me tell you why:

This book is terribly written. It reads like a fifteen year olds piece of English coursework that I would give, maybe, a C grade. And that’s not a bad thing, if you’re a fifteen year old writing a piece of coursework. But this is published. An actual published piece of writing, and I am not okay with reading this quality of writing outside of GCSE English. It’s really juvenile and has awkward expressions that just don’t work. I don’t know if I’m just too old (at 26, ha), if I’m being too harsh and bitchy, or if the author is really young, but I cannot stand to read any more of this.

I want to give the author the benefit of the doubt, though, as there will probably be some people who will love this book, and that’s fine. I don’t care what people read so long as they’re reading, but I’m not going to carry on with something that I don’t like. I do think this will suit a younger audience, though, as some of the writing seems to be in a teenage vernacular. Plus, there are mermaids, so you can’t really complain about that (even if Llyr seems really creepy and there’s a nauseating level of instalove).

Read: April 23rd 2016

1/5 stars

Leave a Reply

