Dirty Pretty Things by Michael Faudet

Received from NetGalley for review.

I think the kind of poetry Michael Faudet writes is something you either love or hate – most of the reviews I’ve read have gone that way, with very little middle ground. Personally, I love it. I’ve loved it since I first came across it on Instagram and I continue to enjoy the gorgeous way poets like Faudet (Kat Savage and Atticus come to mind) use words. I love the simple short poems and stories, the way it is both uncomplicated and deep, and how poets like Faudet take simple words and ideas and turn them into something beautiful.

Lips

Kisses dream of lips like yours.

Goodreads describes this collection of poetry as ‘whimsical and often erotic’ and I would have to agree; Faudet takes very human concepts like loss, love, and sex and turns them into little masterpieces that a lot of people can relate to. I just find it beautiful in its simplicity – it’s not complicated or hard work to find meaning and I enjoy that kind of poetry, as well the more traditional kind.

Poetry like this has taken social media by storm and I’m glad as poetry can so often be seen as a tedious part of English at school, especially for those who sometimes struggle with words. Anything that brings poetry into the forefront of people’s minds is fine by me, and it just so happens that I really enjoy it as well.

Airplanes

She rode on airplanes and fell asleep in hotel beds. Dreaming of faraway places – writing poetry with her sunset eyes.

Simple words, magical images. Highly recommended for lovers of the written word.

Read: June 30th 2016

4/5 stars

Leave a Reply

