Suspended (The Vagabond Circus, #1) by Sarah Noffke

A copy of Suspended was kindly sent to me by Sarah Noffke in exchange for an honest review.

Suspended tells the story of the Vagabond Circus, a travelling circus full of Dream Travelers – extraordinary people with amazing skills. The circus has no magic and no flashing lights, only the exceptional skill of its performers. Of course everything is not as it seems within the circus, and Dave Raydon, the ringmaster, knows he has to do something to keep the circus afloat and that something is his newest performer, Finley. It becomes obvious to the reader, however, that Finley is hiding something and that the Vagabond Circus may not be as safe and whimsical as the performers and audience once thought.

On the surface I should have loved this book as I adore reading stories about the circus, but I didn’t gel with this book at all. I can’t pinpoint any specific reason, I just found myself reading for the sake of it without really taking in the words and enjoying the story. I wasn’t swept up in the circus or the Dream Travelers and the story felt a bit flat to me. I didn’t connect with the characters and found the narratives annoying; the story is told between Dave, Finley, and acrobat/mind reader Zuma’s perspective, but I didn’t enjoy being in any of their heads. I’m not sure if I would have liked this book more if it was written from a different perspective but that’s something I will never know. The beginning of the story is a bit of an info-dump as well which I dislike in general – I want to get to know things gradually, through the characters and plot developing, rather than being given a mini history lesson.

I know, however, that many people will love this book. I know I’m in the minority as Suspended has so many incredible reviews, so it’s just a case of ‘it’s you, not me’ and that happens sometimes. There are people who have loved, and will love, the characters and the trials of the Vagabond Circus and everything that happens within it, I’m just not one of them.

Read: July 16th 2016

2/5 stars

Leave a Reply

