Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

I’ve been talking about reading this book for at least ten years. As a lover of literature and an English teacher it always seemed absurd to me that I couldn’t bring myself to read Wuthering Heights, especially as I love everything to do with Haworth and the Brontë sisters. I think I was always afraid of it not living up to my expectations, as I wanted to love it – luckily I did.

I have no idea, however, why people love Heathcliff. There are anti-heroes and there are irrefutably horrible characters and for me Heathcliff is the latter. He is a vile creation, made of hatred and revenge, and although I can understand his attitude (due to his upbringing) he was far too cruel to all but Cathy for me to think anything positive of him. I disliked nearly all the characters within the novel, with the exception of Nelly Dean and Cathy’s daughter, Catherine. It’s quite a feat to read a book that is so exquisitely crafted and yet contains the worst aspects of humanity.

There’s no denying this books excellence, though, and I am so glad I finally read it. I know it is a book that will stay with me for a long time, and I doubt there’s been a book written since that embodies the Yorkshire moors and the dangers of obsessive love and revenge quite so well.

Read: July 19th-21st 2016

5/5 stars

3 thoughts on “Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

Leave a Reply

