Illuminae (The Illuminae files, #1) by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

(Originally published in Little Bits)

I’m so torn with this book; I half hate it and half love it. I want to throw it out the window and hug it. It’s a dilemma.

First things first, I loved Kady. And Ezra. But Kady is the superstar tiny badass of the book – she is a fantastic character on every level. One (well, two) amazing characters can’t carry an entire book, however, when the plot is a bit of a mind fuck and the author employs a really fucking annoying plot device that I hated.

It’s a very weird story, and I didn’t enjoy the story being entirely told in reports, e-mails, surveillance etc., as it made the narration too sterile and clinical; I don’t know about anyone else but I could have done with some actual, traditional story telling to break up the reports, as the story as a whole is very interesting. People are hailing it as so original and different but I’ve read loads of books with e-mails and reports – it’s not a new thing – and the story line screams Star Trek/Alien/Contagion hybrid.

It’ll be interesting to see what comes next in this series; I’m not sure I’ll read the next book yet but I am intrigued as to what will happen.

Read: October 24th-31st 2015

3/5 stars

Leave a Reply

