Little Bits

Diary of a Haunting by M. Verano

DNF

I’m pretty sure I tried to read this last time it was on Riveted/Pulseit as a free read, but I didn’t make it more than a few chapters. This is the kind of story that should be good – haunted house, freaky happenings, diary format. All good stuff. Except the writing is tragically dull and there is nothing AT ALL to hook me in the first few chapters, so why should I care enough to read further and get to anything potentially frightening? Reviews in general say nay, and so do I.

Read: August 5th 2016

1/5 stars

The Whales’ Song by Dyan Sheldon and Gary Blythe

Whilst at Waterstones the other day, my partner pointed this out to me and I practically shrieked with delight. This is one of my ultimate childhood favourites, and I remember listening to it at primary school when a particular supply teacher came in. I always looked forward to seeing her because I knew she would read this story to us; nearly twenty years later and it’s still as entrancing to me. It’s pure childhood nostalgia and it is just as magical as I remembered; the beauty of the story, the vibrant illustrations, everything about this story makes me smile.

Read: August 11th 2016

5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

