The Graces (The Graces, #1) by Laure Eve

It’s always strange to feel like the odd one out in terms of newly released, and highly anticipated, books but here I am.The Graces was one of my most anticipated reads of 2016 and I was a little worried after reading some of the reviews as I just couldn’t see how the story couldn’t be liked. Witches, obsession, and secrets – it’s a glorious trifecta. Plus, anything likened to The Craft can’t be a bad thing.

The Graces seems to have divided people like marmite and I’ve seen a lot of hate, a lot of love, and very little middle ground. Personally, I loved it – yes, there are flaws and I can see why people are comparing it to Twilight with River’s obsession with the Grace kids, but I still thought it was brilliant. It’s a strange, twisty tale with a lot of weirdness, which is exactly the kind of story I like.

I loved the story even though I didn’t particularly like River and her superior attitude, and I was just as fascinated by Summer, Thalia, and Fenrin, and the murkiness of are they or aren’t they. I doubt I would have been so obsessed in River’s position, but I would have definitely been interested. I find witches and everything witchy fascinating so maybe I’m biased that way, but I loved the atmosphere of the novel and the strangeness of it all, and the way the plot wasn’t always obvious. Maybe this will be the next book that polarizes people as violently as Twilight did, maybe not, but I’ll be firmly in Camp Grace if it does.

Read: September 1st-4th 2016

4/5 stars

Leave a Reply

