The Memory Book by Lara Avery

Received from NetGalley for review. 

I think this is a case of ‘it’s not you, it’s me’, because my interest in this book completely nosedived early on when Sam started getting all starry-eyed over Stuart, and I definitely seem to be in the minority. Either that or this book is simply not good enough to cure my strange book slump. I’ll admit I pretty much gave up around page eighty and skimmed afterwards, but here are some of the things I did like:

– The sensitive but funny was Avery has dealt with a serious illness, Niemann-Pick C, which is essentially described as being like dementia (memory loss, hallucinations, leads to death). Sam writes in a diary to her future self in order to remember things that she will inevitably forget, and it is written in such a way that you feel incredibly sad for her situation whilst still being able to laugh at the things that she says.
– Sam’s reaction to her diagnosis; she’s aware of the impact NPC will have on her life but it seems to make her all the more determined to live as fully as possible, with the positive side effect of making her realise you can’t always plan ahead but need to live in the moment as well.
– Sam’s personality; some would say she’s quirky but I just liked her and found her relatable. She’s academically intelligent, debates fiercely about social injustice, and loves to read. Winner. Her narrative is hilarious for the most part, and easy to read, which I always appreciate.

And the thing I didn’t like so much:

– Sam’s internal monologue about Stuart Shah. I get it, you find him attractive and intelligent and have had a crush forever, but I just don’t care. It’s not that I disliked Stuart as such, I just found him a bit bland and two dimensional, although that could have been because I didn’t read much of it properly. I was much more interested in learning about Sam and the way she was dealing with NPC outside of having a love interest. I love a good romance but the beginnings of this one left me feeling cold.

Loads of people seem to love the book though, so I guess give it a go? I genuinely don’t think there’s anything wrong with the book or the way it’s been written, it simply didn’t work for me at this moment in my life. I may give it another go in the future, who knows.

Read: January 10th 2017

2/5 stars

Leave a Reply

