Little Bits

milk and honey by Rupi Kaur

The more I read, the more I loved. Kaur is an incredible voice, so vivid and raw I could feel her words in every part of me.

you tell me to quiet down cause
my opinions makes me less beautiful
but i was not made with a fire in my belly
so i could be put out
i was not made with a lightness on my tongue
so i could be easy to swallow
i was made heavy
half blade and half silk
difficult to forget and not easy
for the mind to follow

Read: May 25th-26th 2017

5/5 stars

Five Hundred Miles by Kevin Brooks

As with the other ‘dyslexia friendly’ and ‘easy read’ books used in the school where I teach, I can see why Five Hundred Miles has been used; we have some incredibly reluctant readers so these books are not without merit, but I find them to be lacking regardless. The plot is underdeveloped and the ending is rushed, although it was an easy read and engaged my class fairly well.

Read: May 26th 2017

2/5 stars

Spring Story (Brambly Hedge) by Jill Barklem

I can’t remember if I read the Brambly Hedge stories when I was little (probably, but a million books have been and gone since then), but they are absolutely adorable. Such sweet stories and illustrations, I can see why they have delighted young and old for so long.

Read: June 3rd 2017

4/5 stars

Leave a Reply

